Quick ‘n Easy, Super-Yummy Mexican Casserole

This is one of my family’s favorite casseroles! It was inspired by a recipe that my mother emailed me. I tweaked it…a lot, & it is quick, easy, inexpensive, versatile, & tasty. You can make it vegetarian, gluten-free, vegan, super meaty…I can easily increase the quantity for a potluck or bring it down for just my husband & I.

To start, you need enough burritos to line a glass baking dish. I use frozen bean burritos, the ones with refried beans, but you can use any variety. (You could even roll your own if you are so inclined.) Cut them to fit tightly into the dish. *Let them thaw in the dish before baking or you will have to increase baking time. I usually put them in the casserole dish a couple of hours before I’m ready to bake them.*

Image

Personally, I like this dish without meat, but all of the men in my house prefer some chewable protein in it, so we have compromised on ground turkey. I usually cook it up, much like I would for tacos.

Image

Then I add diced chilies, 1 can of diced tomatoes with chilies, & some sliced olives.

Image

Okay…here is the one ingredient that I wish I could replicate using something more natural or homemade…

Image

Campbell’s Condensed Fiesta Nacho Cheese Soup…If I could figure out how to mimic it using natural ingredients, I would! If anyone else has any ideas or know how, please share!

I use one can of the above soup, an equal amount of sour cream. (If you wanted to make a vegan or dairy-free version, you could omit the cream soup & use Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese & Better Than Sour Cream or similar brand, then add some extra spices.)  I also sprinkle a small sprinkle of shredded sharp cheddar cheese into the mixture too. Stir it well.

Smear the sauce mixture evenly over the burritos, making sure to schmoosh (that’s a technical term) into all of the cracks & gaps.

Image

Once it is evenly spread out, sprinkle with shredded cheese.

Image

Preheat the oven to 435 & bake for about 35 minutes (as long as the burritos were completely thawed, a little longer if they were still frozen).

Image

Enjoy!

I hope that it makes mouths as happy in your home as it does in mine!

Leave a Reply

